Watch the staircase to the moon

The Staircase to the Moon is a natural phenomenon observed in Broome Western Australia between April and October only. It is caused by the rising of a full moon reflecting on the exposed mudflats at extremely low tide creating a beautiful optical illusion of a staircase reaching up to the moon.

The Staircase Markets are held at the Town Beach Reserve on Robinson Street over the two nights of the full moon April – October. Wander around the colorful local stalls under the stars, sample the tastes of Broome cuisine, listen to local live music and take in the spectacular Staircase to the Moon. Bring the family and enjoy a meal on the grass… Burgers, Pizza, Thai, Laksa, Satays, Fish N Chips, Raw Food, Chinese, Fruit Smoothies, Ice Cream, Donuts, Hot Dogs, Coffee and more…Stalls with jewelry, craft, clothing, confectionery, local mango products, soaps, incense, candles, photography, homewares and more can be perused at a leisurely pace in the cool evening.

Extra bus services run during this time – check with Town Bus Service for times.

2021 Staircase to the Moon Dates

MAY 2021
Thursday 27th May 18.13
Friday 28th May 19:15
Saturday 29th May 20:19
JUNE 2021 JULY 2021 AUGUST 2021 SEPTEMBER 2021
Friday 25th June 17.58 Saturday 24th July 17.47 Monday 23rd August 18.30 Tuesday 21st September 18.06
Saturday 26th June 19.03 Sunday 25th July 18.49 Tuesday 24th August 19.24 Wednesday 22nd September 18.56
Sunday 27th June 20.06 Monday 26th July 19.48 Wednesday 25th August 20.15 Thursday 23rd September 19.46
OCTOBER 2021 NOVEMBER 2021
Thursday 21st October 18.29 Saturday 20th November 18.57
Friday 22nd October 19.19 Sunday 21st November 19.49
Saturday 23rd October 20.10 Monday 22nd November 20.41

Source: https://www.visitbroome.com.au/info/staircase-to-the-moon-dates

    • Explore, Family
    • explore, Family, Staircase to the moon